What is the Vermont Marijuana Registry Program?
In 2004, the Vermont Legislature passed Act 135, “An Act Relating to Marijuana Use by Persons with Severe Illness.” The Department of Public Safety was designated as the agency to administer the Vermont Marijuana Registry (VMR). There have been various amendments passed since 2004, the most notable being the 2011 amendment authorizing the VMR to register four dispensaries throughout the state.
***Note: This program is for VERMONT RESIDENTS ONLY!***
Who may register with the Marijuana Registry?
To become a registered patient, a person must be diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition by a health care professional in the course of a bona fide health care professional-patient relationship. A “debilitating medical condition” means:
- Cancer, acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS), positive status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), multiple sclerosis (MS), glaucoma, Crohn’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, or the treatment of these conditions, if the disease or the treatment results in severe, persistent, and intractable symptoms;
- Post-traumatic stress disorder, provided the Department confirms the applicant is undergoing psychotherapy or counseling with a licensed mental health care provider; or
- A disease or medical condition or its treatment that is chronic, debilitating, and produces one or more of the following intractable symptoms: cachexia or wasting syndrome; chronic pain; severe nausea; or seizures.
How do I register as a patient?
To become a “registered patient” with the Vermont Marijuana Registry you must complete the Registration Packet located in the Document Library. You will be responsible for completing most of the form. However, part of the form will need to be completed by your health care professional. Your health care professional must be licensed in Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, or New York to complete the form.
You are also required to provide an electronic photograph of yourself for your Marijuana Registry Identification Card. Mail the completed form to the Vermont Marijuana Registry at the address provided on the form.
The Registry will process your application within 30 days after receiving a completed application. If your application is approved, you will be notified in writing and receive a Registry Identification Card mailed to the address provided on your application. If your application is denied, you will be notified in writing and will be able to appeal the denial.
PLEASE NOTE: Application status will not be given over the phone or via email. Please do not call or email the Registry to inquire about the status of your application. These calls and emails will not be returned. You will receive a written letter from the Registry once a final decision on your application has been made. The Registry will also notify you in writing if your application is incomplete.
Are there any fees associated with the Registry?
- $50 non-refundable fee for applying as a registered patient (initial and renewal).
- $50 non-refundable fee for applying as a registered caregiver (initial and renewal).
- $25 non-refundable fee for reissuing a lost or stolen registry identification card and/or for changes of information contained on a registry identification card.
Is my confidentiality protected?
All applications and supporting information received by the Vermont Marijuana Registry are confidential, including information regarding registered patients, caregivers, health care professionals, and dispensaries.
What is the possession limit?
The amount of marijuana allowed to be collectively possessed by a registered patient and the patient’s registered caregiver, is no more than two mature marijuana plants, seven immature plants, and two ounces of usable marijuana. Usable marijuana includes marijuana infused products.