The Sex Offender Registry Law applies to persons convicted of the following crimes if the person was:
- convicted in Vermont on or after July 1, 1996
- convicted in Vermont or another state PRIOR to July 1, 1996, confined under the custody of the Commissioner of Corrections, and released from confinement in Vermont on or after July 1, 1996
- convicted in Vermont or another state PRIOR to July 1, 1996, and was being supervised in the community in Vermont by the Commissioner of Corrections on July 1, 1996
- convicted or released from confinement in another state on or after July 1, 1986 and who established residence in this state on or after July 1, 1996. An individual is considered to have established a residence in Vermont if they remain in the state for more than 10 consecutive days
Non-resident Sex Offenders
A non-resident sex offender who moves to Vermont for full or part time employment or to attend school or college on a full or part-time basis must also register.
The crimes for which offenders must register include:
- Sexual assault
- Aggravated sexual assault
- Lewd and lascivious conduct
- Sexual abuse of a vulnerable adult
- Second or subsequent convictions for voyeurism
- Kidnapping with intent to commit sexual assault
If Victim is a Minor
In addition, the Sex Offender Registry Law applies to persons convicted of any of the following offenses against a victim who is a minor:
- Any offense listed above
- Lewd and lascivious conduct with a child
- Slave traffic
- Sexual exploitation of children
- Procurement or solicitation for prostitution
- Aggravated sexual assault of a child
- Sex trafficking of children or sex trafficking by force, fraud, or coercion
- Sexual exploitation of a minor
- Persons convicted of certain federal sex crimes are also required to register.
Conduct which is criminal only because of the age of the victim shall not be considered an offense for purposes of the registry if the perpetrator is under the age of 18 and the victim is at least 12 years old.
Those individuals who are required to register with the Vermont Sexual Offender Registry must comply with the following requirements:
- Registrants must notify their probation officer of any change of address, employment, enrollment in any post secondary educational institution, or whether the offender will be living with a child under the age of 18 within 24 hours of the change for as long as they are being supervised in the community by the Vermont Department of Corrections.
- After they are discharged from supervision by the Department of Corrections, registrants must notify VCIC of any change of address, employment, or enrollment in any post secondary educational institution, or whether a child under the age of 18 is living in the residence of the registrant within 3 days.
- If a registrant intends to move to another state, they must notify VCIC about their change of address. The registrant must register with the Sex Offender Registry in the new state within three days of moving there.
- Within 10 days of their birthday registrants receive an annual letter from VCIC verifying their current address. They must complete the form and return it to VCIC within 10 days.
- Registrants must notify VCIC or their Probation Officer if they are living with a child under the age of 18.
- Registrants must continue to comply with the above requirements for 10 years from the date they are discharged from the supervision of the Vermont Department of Corrections. If they have been designated a Sexually Violent Predator by the court, they must continue to comply with the above requirements for life or such time as a court orders termination of the designation. If the registrant has been designated as a lifetime registrant they must continue to comply with the requirements for life. Community notification, however, shall continue until such time as a court orders the notification to terminate. VCIC will notify the registrant when they are no longer required to report.
In 2001, Vermont adopted a lifetime registration requirement for individuals who meet the following criteria:
- Individuals who have at least one prior conviction for an offense that would require them to register in Vermont or another jurisdiction of the United States and are convicted in Vermont of a second or subsequent offense after September 1, 2001.
- Individuals who have been convicted of Sexual Assault or Aggravated Sexual Assault after September 1, 2001.
- Individuals who have been determined by the court to be a Sexually Violent Predator.
Penalties For Failing To Comply With Registration Requirements
Failure to comply with any of the requirements indicated above is grounds for a warrant to be issued for the registrant's arrest. If a registrant is convicted of failing to comply with the law they could be imprisoned for not more than two years and/or fined not more than $1,000. A second or subsequent offense could result in a sentence to imprisonment of no more than three years and/or a fine of not more than $5,000.