How long has Vermont had a Registry for sex offenders?
The Vermont Legislature passed the original law that went into effect July 1, 1996. Since then, a number of changes have been made to the original statute. Please visit this link for the current statutes related to sex offenders.
Who must register?
- A person convicted in VT on or after July 1, 1996
- A person convicted prior to July 1, 1996 but incarcerated or supervised by the Department of Corrections on or after July 1, 1996
- Convicted or released from confinement in another state on or after July 1, 1986 and who established residency on or after July 1, 1996. * For purposes of the Registry, a person is considered to have established a residence in VT if they remain in the state for more than 10 consecutive days.
- Statutory list of State and Federal crimes requiring registration in Vermont
What requirements are there for sex offenders in Vermont?
- Registrants that are being supervised by the Department of Corrections must notify their Probation Officers immediately of any change to any of their information.
- Registrants no longer being supervised for a sex offense must notify the Registry within three (3) days of any change to any of their information.
- Registrants must verify their information and provide a new photograph annually.
What are the penalties for registry violations?
Failure to comply with any of the requirements indicated above is grounds for a warrant to be issued for the registrant's arrest. If a registrant is convicted of failing to comply with the law they could be imprisoned for not more than two years and/or fined not more than $1,000. A second or subsequent offense could result in a sentence to imprisonment of no more than three years and/or a fine of not more than $5,000.
What are the requirements for offenders from other states that move to Vermont?
Individuals who are required to register in another state, jurisdiction or territory must register with Vermont within 10 days of establishing residency. Click here for Registration forms.
What restrictions are placed on registered sex offenders in Vermont?
Once an offender has finished their supervision with the Dept of Corrections, the VT Sex Offender Registry law places no restrictions on the registrant.
If I believe an offender has failed to comply with his or her requirements and/or is engaging in inappropriate behavior, who should I call?
Please contact your local Law Enforcement agency to report any alleged violations or concerning behavior.
Do registrants have to disclose to the public, their landlord and/or employers that they are sex offenders?
Inclusion on the Vermont Sex Offender Registry (VTSOR) does not automatically come with a requirement to proactively notify members of the public. However, when any inquiry is made (such as a housing or employment application) questions of this nature should be referred to the appropriate agency with oversight.
Is a registrant able to live near a school, day care or reside with a minor? If a registrant lives in our apartment building and we have kids is that allowable? Is a registrant allowed to have access to the internet through social media such as FaceBook and other platforms?
Inclusion on the Vermont Sex Offender Registry (VTSOR) does not automatically come with restrictions, including housing or internet access. However, if an offender is under the supervision of the Department of Corrections their Probation Officer would have additional information on any restrictions etc. Contact information for an offender’s Probation Officer may be found on the VTSOR Public Website.
What information is available on Vermont’s Sex Offender Internet site?
- Name and any known aliases
- Date of birth
- General physical description
- Digital photograph
- Town of residence
- Date and nature of conviction
- Name and telephone number of the local Department of Corrections office in charge of supervising the registrant.
- Whether or not the registrant has completed treatment
- Whether or not there is an outstanding warrant for the offender’s arrest
- The reason for which the offender’s registry information is accessible on the web site.
- Whether the offender has been designated "high risk" by the Department of Corrections.
- If the offender has not been subject to a risk assessment, a statement that the offender has not been so assessed and that such a person is unrated and presumed to be high risk.
What does "Not Treatment Compliant" mean?
The offender has not completed mandated Sex Offender treatment.
What specifically happened with regards to an offender's conviction (i.e. were the victims children, etc)?
The Vermont Sex Offender Registry is not able to make that level of information available but strongly encourages you to contact local law enforcement with your concerns. Additionally, the court of conviction may have additional information available as well.
What if I have a question about a registrant that is not on VTSOR website but are posted on a third-party website?
The Vermont Sex Offender Registry only maintains the public website and does not work directly with third-party sites. Please contact the site in question with any comments or concerns.
If I know someone is an offender why are they not listed on the VTSOR website?
Generally speaking, individuals may not be registered with the VTSOR or included on the public website for a variety of reasons. These could include expiration of registry requirements, relocation out-of-state, or lack of a qualifying conviction.
If I am a registrant and wish to be removed from the registry or website what is the process?
A registrant who believes that they are improperly on the Vermont Sex Offender Registry (VTSOR), public website, or believes that incorrect information is included in the registry or public website may submit an appeal to the Director of the Vermont Crime Information Center in writing. The Director (or their designee) shall investigate the alleged discrepancy and are limited to correcting clerical errors, reviewing orders from the Court, confirming the identity of registrants and may not consider questions such as rehabilitation. Similarly, questions concerning qualifying convictions should be referred to the court of record for additional information.
How do I get more information regarding the Vermont Sex Offender Registry?
Call the Vermont Sex Offender Regsitry information line at (802) 241-5400. You may also email the VT Sex Offender Registry using the provided link.